2021

What was the most challenging part of this year for you?/What is something you individually accomplished this year that you are proud of?/In what area do you feel you made your biggest improvements?

This year has challenged my skills in technology more than any other year. Being on zoom many times a day for a whole term has forced me to face my fear that I might do something wrong and face the ‘wheel of death’!Term Three,  I’ve had to program using slides, visuals tours and the zoom whiteboard. Being alone at home, I found that I needed  to have a go and attempt to figure out the problems that would arise  rather than running straight to an expert. Although I haven’t quite reached ‘computer geek’ status yet, it is definitely a big improvement for me and I am very proud of the fact that I am now more comfortable with PowerPoint, Excel and Zoom than ever before. 

What are six adjectives that best describe this school year?

  • Wellbeing-I was very appreciative of the fact that there was a big focus on this during lockdown. 
  • Unpredictable-not knowing what will happen tomorrow has almost become the norm!
  •  surreal-I would never have thought a school year would be so disrupted
  •  Stillness- it almost seems as if the world stopped spinning 
  • Zoom-they were relentless
  • you are on mute-probably the most heard and used phrase for me this year. I now apply this in my group in our face to face setting. I just say ‘mute yourself’ and it works! In fact it works so well I have to remember to say “unmute” in order to avoid that tight lipped stare.

What are the three most important things you learned this year?

  • Not everything is in our control.  It is important to sometimes accept and let go. 
  • Realising and focusing on what is important.
  • ‘Tomorrow will be a good day,’  Tom Moore. He was such an inspiration for me during this time. He stayed positive, never gave up and till the end he looked to give back to society. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *